Date: 8th December 2015 at 5:27pm
Written by:

The 35th Football Writers Association Northern Managers Awards (what a mouthful) dinner was held on Sunday, and manager David Flitcroft bagged a gong in light of Bury’s successful League Two promotion run last season.

Held at the Radisson Blu Edwardian Hotel in Manchester, this years event was attended by over 160 members and guests and in the Awards handed out, Flitcroft was joined by Sam Allardyce who received a Lifetime Achievement award following his association with northern clubs – Blackpool, Bolton, Blackburn, Newcastle and now Sunderland, and Preston North End’s Simon Grayson also picked up a gong for their promotion last term as well.

GrahamFenton picked up an award for winning the FA Vase with North Shields, as did Billy Heath for winning the FA Trophy with North Ferriby United.

The awards handed out where inscribed crystal glass awards, decanters for the two non league clubs, and crystal footballs for Allardyce, Grayson and Flicker.

With previous winners being the likes of Bob Paisley, Howard Kendall, Kenny Dalglish and amongst many others including Manuel Pellegrini, David Moyes and Sir Alex Ferguson, previous Bury winners were Martin Dobson in 1985, Stan Ternent in 1997 and Richie Barker in 2011.

bury Bloggers